Rugby league gained a foothold in Sweden in 2010 following the Scandinavian 10s tournament, held in Gothenburg. A governing body, the Svensk Rugby League Foreningwas formed in January 2011 with the publication of a constitution and development plan.

Sweden Rugby League is administered by a four-man executive board, led by the chair, which has a two-year mandate. Elections for executive board positions are conducted at the January AGM. In February 2011, Sweden Rugby League applied for and received Observer status with the RLEF.

SRL’s national league competition, the Swedish Super League, comprises four clubs. The international side debuted on the international stage in 2010 against regional neighbours Norway.


Date Founded: 9th January 2009
Membership: Observer
Board Members:

Adam Kirk (President)

Andrew Bignell (Vice President)

Rajendra Shah (Secretary)

Daniel Wiedemann (Treasurer)

Pontus Eriksson

Sam Cammell

Ashley Brown

Nick Spencer

Fabian Wikander (Board Members)

Web Site:
Telephone: 0046 (0)73 350 60 95


Rugby League