report mainbanner

venue: Lansvale, Sydney

19th October 2013


Adnan Saleh 2, Danny Chia, James Boustani, Khaled Deeb, Liam Ayoub


Toufic Nicholas 5/6

Full Match Report


With the rugby league world’s focus on Europe, the Lebanese Rugby League Federation fielded four teams to kick-off its own campaign to qualify for the 2017 Rugby League World Cup. Under-16, -18, -20 and the full Cedars national team won all their games against Fiji National Rugby League opponents, the latter match to contest the inaugural Hayne-Mannah Cup. 

Lebanon convincingly beat the Fiji XIII 34-4 in the fourth game of the day, with long-serving fullback Adnan Saleh scoring two of his side’s six tries as the Lebanese took a 16-0 halftime lead.

Head coach David Bayssari said: “It was a great effort by all four teams, coaches and their staff who prepared the players well. The players had done themselves and their families proud. It’s a great start to the 2017 campaign.”

Remond Safi, COO of the LRLF and who has been in Australia overhauling the LRLF’s Australian committee, said: “The LRLF has laid the foundations and pathway for a great four years to come with these results. It’s great to see so many of the Lebanese community sharing the same goals of the Lebanese back in Lebanon. It will be exciting to see the progress with both sides of the world working alongside each other to strength Lebanese rugby league over the coming years.”

In the other games, the under-16 won 28-12, the under-18 edged a close one 22-18 and the under-20 were convincing 30-12 victors.

Soliman Jordan, (Blacktown), Steve Azzi, (Bulldogs), Jared Azar, Charlie Farrah, Chris Saab, (Guilford), Saleh Adnan, Jamie Clark, Ali Ellaz, Toufic Nicholas, (Lithgow),Nick Kassis, (Mounties), Khaled Deeb, Ray Moujali, (Newtown), Elias Sukkar, (North Sydney) Ali Hijazi, (QLD Cup), James Boustani, (Wentworthville), Liam Ayoub, Danny Chia, (Windsor). Coach David Bayssari, Anthony Farrah, Robert Elcham

Chris Ahovelo, Billy Baleiloaloma, Sunia Bukalid, Jokatama Dokonivalu, Donis Gock, Jone Macila, Shalom Meo, Tim Nawaqatabu,  Pat O’mealey, Shaun O’mealey, Iliesa Saukuru, Simiti Sautu, Suli Setokuli, Netani Suka, Oris Qaraniqio, Nemani Valekapa, Lepani Waqa


Rugby League