The Rugby Football League is the governing body for rugby league football in Britain and Ireland. Based at Red Hall in Leeds, it administers the England national team, the Challenge Cup, Super League and the Championships which form the professional and semi-professional game structure in the UK. The RFL also administers the community game across the country in association with the British Amateur Rugby League Association. 

Management of the business is organised through four areas: Commercial, Compliance and Regulatory, On-Field Management and Participation, together with Central Services, which provides support to all areas.

The RFL is committed to managing, developing and promoting rugby league and providing excellent, high quality services for the whole rugby league family.

The RFL aims to create the best elite level rugby league competition in the world and maximise the numbers engaged in our sport and the enjoyment derived from participation in it. Also, to be successful internationally on a sustainable basis at all levels and create the best, viable and competitive semi-professional competition possible.



Date Founded: 29th August 1895
Membership: Full
Head Coach: Steve McNamara
Board Members:

Richard Lewis (Chairman)

Nigel Wood (Chief Executive)

Ian Edwards

Maurice Watkins

Bob Stott

Web Site:
Telephone: 0844 477 7113



Facebook twitter



  • World Cup
    • Runner Up: 1995, 1975
  • Wheelchair RLWC
    • Winners: 2008
  • European Championship
    • Winners: 2004, 2003, 1980, 1979, 1978, 1975, 1969/70, 1996, 1953/54, 1949/50, 1947/48, 1946/47, 1945/46, 1935
    • Runner up: 1995, 1981, 1951/52, 1948/49, 1938, 1936/37, 1935/36, 1935
  • Amateur Four Nations
    • Winners: 2006
    • Runners up: 2010, 2003, 2002
  • Federation Shield
    • Winners: 2006
  • European U18 Championship
    • Winner: 2006
  • European U16 Championship
    • Winners: 2009, 2007
Rugby League